2021 Scholarship Recipients

The Curtis E. Lloyd Scholarship Program was created by the FRWA Board in 2008 honoring the memory of one of its longest serving Circuit Riders. Curtis Lloyd joined the FRWA staff in1980 and worked for the association for 17 years. He retired in 1997 and stayed active until his untimely death in December 2007. This endowed scholarship fund memorializes Curtis by helping students realize their potential in tomorrow’s water or wastewater Industry.

The Scholarship recipients are invited to attend the FRWA annual meeting to receive the award and be acknowledged by the members. This year we had seven recipients. Over $60,000 has been awarded to well deserving students since the inception of the scholarship in 2008.

This year's winners are:

Ms. Emery Keen (NW FL WMD) – Emery is continuing her studies at Auburn University this fall pursuing a degree in Mechanical Engineering. She is a member of the Society for Women in Engineering and the Honor’s Fraternity for Mechanical Engineers. After graduation she plans to begin a career in natural resource conservation.

Ms. Kayla Nilson (St. Johns River WMD) – Kyla is continuing her studies at the University of North Florida this fall pursuing a degree in Biology with a focus on Environmental Studies. She intends to pursue a Master’s degree and work towards creating replacements for everyday plastics.

Mr. Tanner Snow (SWFWD) – Tanner is starting University of Central Florida in the fall where he will pursue a degree in Civil Engineering. He plans for a career with the Army Corps of Engineers. HE was a member of the Nation Honor Society at his high school.

The Florida Rural Water Association congratulates each of you and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.